Singing Clear

GDACC/ Shaleshock CNY Sponsor Release of Anti-Fracking CD

Central New York—Shaleshock CNY, Gas Drilling Awareness for Cortland County (GDACC) and Neighbors of the Onondaga Nation (NOON) announce the release of “Singing Clear: Clean earth, air, water ‘round here”, the first CD that features songs about hydrofracking as well as other topics about energy and the environment.  The songs are written and performed by numerous local musicians and groups including Driftwood, The Horseflies, Thousands of One, national touring artist Marie Burns of the Burns Sisters, Bev Grant, and Colleen Kattau.

Music has been one of the most powerful forces in social justice movements throughout American history. This CD continues that inspiring tradition,” said GDACC member Jim Weiss.”

The CD is professionally produced and was mastered in kind by Jocko Randall at More Sound Studio, Syracuse. The 14 cuts on the CD are of diverse musical and performance styles with moods ranging from reflection to outrage to humor.  Approximately half of the songs deal directly with hydrofracking while the remaining ones speak to fossil fuels, clean energy, and social justice, underscoring the connections between environmental issues throughout the Americas.

“We are thankful for all of the artists who have contributed to this project,” stated Lindsay Speer, a community organizer with Shaleshock CNY and Neighbors of the Onondaga Nation. “Now we can dance as we work to protect NY from hydrofracking and shale gas drilling!”

Proceeds from the sale of the CD will go to support these three groups, working together to protect NY from hydrofracking.

In Syracuse the CD is available for sale at the Syracuse Cultural Workers at 400 Lodi St. in Syracuse and the Syracuse Peace Council.

Singing Clear may be purchased at Sheridans’ Jewelry, Pure and Simple Yoga, The Blue Frog (Cortland), Oh My Goodness Health Food Store (Homer), and other locations

Up-to-date information about purchasing a copy of the CD can be also found on the Shaleshock CNY website at or GDACC at  Songs can also be downloaded online at


Shaleshock CNY aims to bring together the variety of people and groups working on the issue of hydrofracking so that we can share information and work to protect our communities.

Neighbors of the Onondaga Nation is a grassroots organization of Central New Yorkers which recognizes and supports the sovereignty of the traditional government of the Onondaga Nation. It is a program of the Syracuse Peace Council.  NOON collaborates with the Onondaga Nation in their initiatives to promote environmental healing and restore respectful relationships between the governments of our Nations.

GDACC is a group of residents who are concerned about gas drilling and its potential impacts on our community, health and environment.  Our goal is to educate ourselves and the community about gas drilling, and to promote a safe and clean environment.

Singing Clear is now available on-line through CDbaby either as an album or individual song or album download. Here’s the link:

Various Artists : Singing Clear: Clean earth, air, water 'round here

A benefit CD about hydrofracking, coal, and oil or sun, water and wind, with superbly rendered songs for a clean planet.

Genre: Folk: Free-folk
Release Date: 2012
Singing Clear: Clean earth, air, water ’round here

Various Artists
1. Mama don’t allow no hydrofrackin’ 2:26 + MP3 $0.99
2. Get the frack out of here 4:00 + MP3 $0.99
3. Hole in the ground 3:19 + MP3 $0.99
4. Veins of coal 5:45 + MP3 $0.99
5. Sun and the wind 2:56 + MP3 $0.99
6. Last man on the mountain 5:21 + MP3 $0.99
7. Hydrofracking blues 3:29 + MP3 $0.99
8. Gas man 5:16 + MP3 $0.99
9. Walking into the sun 5:01 + MP3 $0.99
10. Water 3:31 + MP3 $0.99
11. Hey, speculator 4:40 + MP3 $0.99
12. What the frack 3:18 + MP3 $0.99
13. One more hand 5:16 + MP3 $0.99
14. Occupy the USA 3:10 + MP3 $0.99
preview all songs

Album Notes

The Benefit enviro CD “Singing Clear: Clean earth, air, water ‘round here” is here! It is a compilation CD addressing issues of hydrofracking, mountaintop removal, the oil and gas industry with songs for a clean planet and sustainable energy. The compilation features excellent songs donated by artists including The Horse Flies, Driftwood, Marie Burns (of the Burns Sisters), emma’s revolution, Colleen Kattau and Some Guys, Aro Veno, Bev Grant, and Thousands of One, and includes a moving statement by acclaimed environmental activist and author, Sandra Steingraber excerpted from her Heinz award acceptance speech.

The CD benefits the work of GDACC, Shaleshock, NOON (Neighbors of the Onondaga Nation), Friends of Blair Mountain, and other groups working for a clean planet. Mastered beautifully by Jocko Randall of More Sound Studio and with the fresh and clear art work of Felicity Frisbie, the songs, mastering and artwork flow effortlessly to create an album of unity in diversity – as if the arts could shift the course of energy policy.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: